A Deal with the Elf King Review

A Deal with the Elf King Review

By Elise Kova

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Print Length: 338 pages

Release Year: 2020

Genre: Romance, Fantasy, New Adult

Avg. Goodreads Rating: 3.99

Available on Amazon

Special thanks to Elise Kova for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she’s dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town’s only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives… for her.

Everything Luella had thought she’d known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another… but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted. (Goodreads)

My heart is not okay.

I’m at a point in my reading journey that if you tell me a book even vaguely resembles A Court of Thorns and Roses, I’ll shamelessly pick it up. When I saw Elise Kova, who is one of my most favourite writers, was coming out with a book with the words “[…] for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses[…]” I was ecstatic. 

And when the opportunity arose for me to apply for an ARC… well, can you blame me? And let me tell you, I devoured it. Devoured it. I literally had to delay this review for two days cause I needed to recover from reading this book emotionally. 

Kova is definitely a master of making her readers overwhelmed with anticipation. She is one of the few authors that can have me so enraptured that I forget to breathe. I don’t know how many times I had to take a break, even over the smallest developments. This book, in particular, throws you headfirst into the story, not giving you time to prepare for the coming events. You know how the book ends, but the journey is what makes it worth it. Kova is undeniably talented when it comes to making you fall in love with her characters quickly, making it impossible to complain about the predictive nature of her writing. It’s one thing to know what is going to happen, but another to actually watch it unfold with all the excellent character development and swoon-worthy relationship development. 

Picking up this book, you can tell A Deal with the Elf King is a passion project. As a writer and reader, you can feel the love that went into this story. It was written as an escape and subsequently worked very well in letting the reader escape as well. This book, while having essential themes, A Deal with the Elf King, manages to be a feel-good read; something you can snuggle under the blankets and escape with. 

I’m inclined to call it a guilty pleasure, but the thing is: I’m not guilty whatsoever. 

Ms. Kova, if you happen to stumble upon this, let me tell you: if you write it I’m buying it. 

And you should too. There really isn’t anything to complain about with this book. As mentioned, the romance is absolutely swoon-worthy, and the magical world-building is fun and does its job well. These books aren’t hard to read, and that’s what makes it so wonderful. All the fun of fantasy without the overwhelming amounts of world-building information. 

I truly recommend checking out this book, whether it be for a little escapism, or just to have something to read. And while you’re at it, check out other works by the author as well.

Subjective Rating

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Objective Rating

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Final Rating

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

The Impossible (2012) Review

The Impossible (2012) Review

Directed by: J.A. Bayona

Written by: Sergio G. Sanchez, Maria Belon

Starring: Naomi Watts, Ewan McGregor, Tom Holland

Rated: PG-13

Run-Time: 1h 54min

Genre: Drama, Thriller

Rotten Tomatoes: 81%

Availability: Netflix

The story of a tourist family in Thailand caught in the destruction and chaotic aftermath of the 2004 Indian Ocean Tsunami. (IMDb)

This movie came out quite a long time ago and it wasn’t until around 2018 that I got the chance to watch it for the first time. I’ve watched it at least four times since. When I found myself browning Netflix for something to watch one evening I was pleasantly surprised to see that The Impossible was streaming; and not only was it streaming, but it was in Netflix’s top ten. If I recall correctly it was number two! It’s a really exciting thing to see more people watching what is otherwise a hidden gem. And did I mention an absolutely adorable baby Tom Holland is in this film?

The Impossible is one of those truly terrifying thrillers that doesn’t have to work hard to get you on the edge of your seat. In addition to being based on true events, the amazing acting of the cast doesn’t struggle to make you forget you’re just watching a movie. The film is practically held solely on the back of Naomi Watts and a young Tom Holland. Together they set the tone of the film, that is later carried on by and enhanced by McGregor. 

The film is well executed with a handful of shots near iconic. Additionally, the anxiety and horror of the sudden destructive power of tsunami are depicted in the shots just as well as through the actors’ performances. You see just how quickly a natural disaster can come and turn your life upside down.

I recommend this film, but be aware that it’s probably not for the faint of heart. This film holds little back in its depiction of a natural disaster, making it a hard film to watch for some. If you feel you can handle it, I highly recommend it.

Subjective Rating

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Objective Rating

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Final Rating

Rating: 4 out of 5.